Tags

, , , , , ,

I longed for her in lonely nights

I chased her in my days

They told me

She was worthy not

Of all that pain

They told me she will cheat me

They told me she was fake

They told me that too many

Were burned out

Like that

Prompted by desire

Fueled by false hope

I chased that idea

That once seemed so hot

                        L.R.S.

Seven of Cups in Tarot traditionally denotes illusions and pipe dreams
(1909 deck, no longer under copyright)

“Strange chalices of vision, but the images are more especially those of the fantastic spirit. Divinatory Meanings: Fairy favours, images of reflection, sentiment, imagination, things seen in the glass of contemplation; some attainment in these degrees, but nothing permanent or substantial is suggested.”

A.E. Waite, The Pictorial Key to the Tarot, illustration by Pamela Colman Smith