Tags

, , , , , , ,

“On a sad Sunday with a hundred white flowers,

I awaited for you my dear with a church prayer,

That dream chasing Sunday morning,

The chariot of my sadness returned without you,

Ever since then, Sundays are always sad, tears are my drink bread is my sorrow…

Sad Sunday. Last Sunday dear please come along,

There will even be priest, coffin, catafalque, hearse-cloth.

Even then flowers will be awaiting you,

Flowers and coffin under blossoming  trees my journey shall be the last,

My eyes will be open, so that I can see you one more time,

Don’t be frightened from my eyes as I’m blessing you even in my death…

Last Sunday.”

There are many urban legends surrounding Gloomy Sunday, mostly connecting the song with numbers of suicides; the press in the 1930s associated at least 19 suicides, both in Hungary and America, with “Gloomy Sunday”. No studies have drawn a clear link between the song and suicide, yet several Hungarian artists as of recently were assuring me that the song is fatal indeed; more so – they were taken aback by my statement that those  legends were only that – legends… Its composer, Rezső Seress, some 35 years after writing the song, in January 1968 did commit suicide. Billie Holiday’s version of the song was banned from BBC, as being “detrimental to wartime morale”, the ban was lifted only in 2002.

Some more pics of “Vienna’a dark sister” for you… For the record, i’ll choose Pest’s gloom over Vienna’s Sacher cake& waltz anyday. Maybe it’s because i am wired that way – maybe it’s because my mother is from the Old Country, who knows.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

L.R.S.